Buy your weekday smoothies and get your weekend ones for free. (7 for the price of 5!)
90k Cayenne Capsules or Powder - Lab Tested and Pure
Capsaicin is one of the better-studied plant compounds in people. A 2024 meta-analysis of nine placebo-controlled trials found it supports nasal comfort, and a 30-person trial found whole red pepper powder before meals supports upper-digestive comfort. This is that pepper, whole.
For adults who want cayenne as a daily food-form herb. 60, 120, or 480 capsules, or powder from 1/4 lb to 1 lb.
- Lab Tested
- 90,000 SHU
- Whole Dried Fruit
- Pork-Free Capsule
- No Fillers
- No Flow Agents
- No Capsaicin Extract
Why people use it
- Whole fruit, not an extract. Dried Capsicum annuum fruit carries its own antioxidants and its own plant matrix. Standardized capsaicin isolates one compound and throws the rest away.
- Digestive support, taken with food. Cayenne has a long history in herbal practice as a digestive bitter. The human trial in the research drop-down used whole red pepper powder before meals, not an extract.
- Peripheral circulation. Traditionally used to support circulation out at the hands and feet. This is the warmth people describe.
- Normal mucus flow. Used to support normal mucus flow and comfortable breathing through seasonal changes.
- Normal energy expenditure. A meta-analysis of human feeding studies found capsaicinoids support normal energy expenditure and a satisfied feeling after meals, with modest effect sizes.
What you're getting (approximate)
The figures below come from the label's stated 430 mg fill and its 90,000 Scoville rating.
| Component | Per capsule |
|---|---|
| Cayenne (Capsicum annuum) dried fruit | ~430 mg |
| Total capsaicinoids | ~2.4 mg |
Approximate. The 430 mg fill is the label figure. Capsaicinoids are calculated from the 90,000 Scoville rating using the standard 16 Scoville units per ppm conversion, not a lot assay; Scoville ratings describe a range, not a single number. Ask us for the current certificate of analysis.
How to use
- Never on an empty stomach. Take it after a meal that contains fat.
- Start at 1 capsule (430 mg) a day and hold there for at least one to two weeks before you change anything.
- Most people settle at 2 to 3 capsules a day with meals.
- Powder: about 430 mg (a small pinch) equals one capsule. Stir it into food. Do not swallow it dry.
- A warming sensation is normal with cayenne. If it is uncomfortable, drop back to the last amount that felt fine.
Sourcing & making
Single-ingredient cayenne, lab verified lot by lot for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria. Josh buys on lab data rather than on a certification, because plenty of farms exceed organic practice without paying for the label and a certificate does not report your lot's numbers. Capsules are USP-grade bovine gelatin, pork-free. Powder is the same material, unencapsulated.
Full ingredients
- 100% Lab-Tested 90K Cayenne Powder
- Lab-Tested USP Grade Pork-Free Bovine Capsule (with capsule purchases)
Who it's for — and who it isn't
Good fit for:
- Adults who cook with cayenne already and want a measured daily amount
- Practitioners who prefer whole food-form herbs over standardized single-compound extracts
- Anyone who wants the powder in bulk for food, and the capsules for the days they don't want the heat
Probably not for you if:
- You have stomach ulcers or stomach inflammation. Ask a practitioner before you start.
- It is for children.
- You react to capsicum or other nightshades.
Testing & quality
Every product is lab tested. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround. Every lot is checked for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria before it's bottled.
The research behind the ingredients
Published research on the ingredients in this product, for education. These studies were not conducted on this product.
Cayenne (Capsicum annuum) / capsaicin
Capsaicin nasal-comfort review, 2024
Clinical Reviews in Allergy & Immunology · 2024 · systematic review and meta-analysis · n=9 placebo-controlled studies
Pooling nine placebo-controlled studies of intranasal capsaicin in adults with non-allergic (non-IgE-mediated) rhinitis, capsaicin improved total nasal symptom and visual-analogue scores and produced more treatment responders than placebo, with the authors calling for larger standardised trials.
Cayenne (red pepper powder, Capsicum annuum)
Red pepper powder digestion trial, 2002
Alimentary Pharmacology & Therapeutics · 2002 · RCT · n=30
In a placebo-controlled trial of 30 adults with functional dyspepsia, 2.5 g/day of red pepper powder taken before meals for five weeks lowered scores for epigastric pain, fullness and nausea by about 60% versus roughly 30% with placebo, with separation appearing from week three.
Cayenne (capsaicin / capsaicinoids)
Chemical Senses · 2012 · meta-analysis · n=pooled human studies (dose-ranging)
Pooling human feeding studies, the authors found that capsaicin and capsiate both raised energy expenditure and fat oxidation, especially at higher doses, and blunted appetite sensations, though the authors judged the size of the effect to be modest.
Evidence note: Moderate: capsaicin is one of the better-studied plant compounds in humans, but the nasal trials used intranasal capsaicin sprays in non-allergic rhinitis rather than swallowed cayenne capsules, and the digestive and energy trials used gram-level red-pepper doses well above a single 430 mg capsule, so dose and delivery route both differ from this product.
FAQ
What does 90K mean?
It is the Scoville rating: 90,000 Scoville Heat Units. At the standard conversion of 16 Scoville units per ppm of capsaicinoids, that works out to roughly 0.56 percent by weight, or about 2.4 mg in a 430 mg capsule. It is a heat rating, not a lot assay.
Why lab tested instead of certified organic?
We verify each lot for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria. That is a sourcing decision rather than a regulatory status, and it gives you numbers for your own lot. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround.
Capsules or powder?
Same material. About 430 mg of powder equals one capsule. Powder costs less per gram and mixes into food; capsules skip the heat on the tongue. Do not swallow loose powder dry, and keep it away from your eyes.
How does this compare to Josh's Spicy Rush?
This one is cayenne and nothing else, at a stated 430 mg per capsule. Spicy Rush adds niacinamide and does not disclose either amount. Don't assume the cayenne load is the same, and don't stack them without talking to your provider.
Why start at one capsule?
Cayenne is warming and the tolerance for it varies more than almost anything else we sell. One capsule after food for a week or two tells you where you sit before you commit to a routine.
Pairs well with
- Josh's Spicy Rush — the same cayenne with niacinamide added, for people who want it after breakfast
- Salt of Life — trace minerals with every meal
- 100% Grass-Fed Beef Liver — the whole-food copper and retinol base under everything else
Cautions
- Not recommended for young children under 5.
- Store cool and dry, away from direct sunlight. Best within 12 months of opening.
Lab Tested
Every product. COA on request, ~2 weeks.
Small Batch
Made in small batches, about as close to homemade as a capsule gets.
Nothing Hidden
One ingredient, plus the capsule. No fillers or flow agents.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nutrient figures are approximate reference values, not a lot-specific assay. Consult your healthcare provider before use if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or managing a health condition.
Capsaicin is one of the better-studied plant compounds in people. A 2024 meta-analysis of nine placebo-controlled trials found it supports nasal comfort, and a 30-person trial found whole red pepper powder before meals supports upper-digestive comfort. This is that pepper, whole.
For adults who want cayenne as a daily food-form herb. 60, 120, or 480 capsules, or powder from 1/4 lb to 1 lb.
- Lab Tested
- 90,000 SHU
- Whole Dried Fruit
- Pork-Free Capsule
- No Fillers
- No Flow Agents
- No Capsaicin Extract
Why people use it
- Whole fruit, not an extract. Dried Capsicum annuum fruit carries its own antioxidants and its own plant matrix. Standardized capsaicin isolates one compound and throws the rest away.
- Digestive support, taken with food. Cayenne has a long history in herbal practice as a digestive bitter. The human trial in the research drop-down used whole red pepper powder before meals, not an extract.
- Peripheral circulation. Traditionally used to support circulation out at the hands and feet. This is the warmth people describe.
- Normal mucus flow. Used to support normal mucus flow and comfortable breathing through seasonal changes.
- Normal energy expenditure. A meta-analysis of human feeding studies found capsaicinoids support normal energy expenditure and a satisfied feeling after meals, with modest effect sizes.
What you're getting (approximate)
The figures below come from the label's stated 430 mg fill and its 90,000 Scoville rating.
| Component | Per capsule |
|---|---|
| Cayenne (Capsicum annuum) dried fruit | ~430 mg |
| Total capsaicinoids | ~2.4 mg |
Approximate. The 430 mg fill is the label figure. Capsaicinoids are calculated from the 90,000 Scoville rating using the standard 16 Scoville units per ppm conversion, not a lot assay; Scoville ratings describe a range, not a single number. Ask us for the current certificate of analysis.
How to use
- Never on an empty stomach. Take it after a meal that contains fat.
- Start at 1 capsule (430 mg) a day and hold there for at least one to two weeks before you change anything.
- Most people settle at 2 to 3 capsules a day with meals.
- Powder: about 430 mg (a small pinch) equals one capsule. Stir it into food. Do not swallow it dry.
- A warming sensation is normal with cayenne. If it is uncomfortable, drop back to the last amount that felt fine.
Sourcing & making
Single-ingredient cayenne, lab verified lot by lot for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria. Josh buys on lab data rather than on a certification, because plenty of farms exceed organic practice without paying for the label and a certificate does not report your lot's numbers. Capsules are USP-grade bovine gelatin, pork-free. Powder is the same material, unencapsulated.
Full ingredients
- 100% Lab-Tested 90K Cayenne Powder
- Lab-Tested USP Grade Pork-Free Bovine Capsule (with capsule purchases)
Who it's for — and who it isn't
Good fit for:
- Adults who cook with cayenne already and want a measured daily amount
- Practitioners who prefer whole food-form herbs over standardized single-compound extracts
- Anyone who wants the powder in bulk for food, and the capsules for the days they don't want the heat
Probably not for you if:
- You have stomach ulcers or stomach inflammation. Ask a practitioner before you start.
- It is for children.
- You react to capsicum or other nightshades.
Testing & quality
Every product is lab tested. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround. Every lot is checked for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria before it's bottled.
The research behind the ingredients
Published research on the ingredients in this product, for education. These studies were not conducted on this product.
Cayenne (Capsicum annuum) / capsaicin
Capsaicin nasal-comfort review, 2024
Clinical Reviews in Allergy & Immunology · 2024 · systematic review and meta-analysis · n=9 placebo-controlled studies
Pooling nine placebo-controlled studies of intranasal capsaicin in adults with non-allergic (non-IgE-mediated) rhinitis, capsaicin improved total nasal symptom and visual-analogue scores and produced more treatment responders than placebo, with the authors calling for larger standardised trials.
Cayenne (red pepper powder, Capsicum annuum)
Red pepper powder digestion trial, 2002
Alimentary Pharmacology & Therapeutics · 2002 · RCT · n=30
In a placebo-controlled trial of 30 adults with functional dyspepsia, 2.5 g/day of red pepper powder taken before meals for five weeks lowered scores for epigastric pain, fullness and nausea by about 60% versus roughly 30% with placebo, with separation appearing from week three.
Cayenne (capsaicin / capsaicinoids)
Chemical Senses · 2012 · meta-analysis · n=pooled human studies (dose-ranging)
Pooling human feeding studies, the authors found that capsaicin and capsiate both raised energy expenditure and fat oxidation, especially at higher doses, and blunted appetite sensations, though the authors judged the size of the effect to be modest.
Evidence note: Moderate: capsaicin is one of the better-studied plant compounds in humans, but the nasal trials used intranasal capsaicin sprays in non-allergic rhinitis rather than swallowed cayenne capsules, and the digestive and energy trials used gram-level red-pepper doses well above a single 430 mg capsule, so dose and delivery route both differ from this product.
FAQ
What does 90K mean?
It is the Scoville rating: 90,000 Scoville Heat Units. At the standard conversion of 16 Scoville units per ppm of capsaicinoids, that works out to roughly 0.56 percent by weight, or about 2.4 mg in a 430 mg capsule. It is a heat rating, not a lot assay.
Why lab tested instead of certified organic?
We verify each lot for glyphosate, GMO material, heavy metals, mold, and bacteria. That is a sourcing decision rather than a regulatory status, and it gives you numbers for your own lot. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround.
Capsules or powder?
Same material. About 430 mg of powder equals one capsule. Powder costs less per gram and mixes into food; capsules skip the heat on the tongue. Do not swallow loose powder dry, and keep it away from your eyes.
How does this compare to Josh's Spicy Rush?
This one is cayenne and nothing else, at a stated 430 mg per capsule. Spicy Rush adds niacinamide and does not disclose either amount. Don't assume the cayenne load is the same, and don't stack them without talking to your provider.
Why start at one capsule?
Cayenne is warming and the tolerance for it varies more than almost anything else we sell. One capsule after food for a week or two tells you where you sit before you commit to a routine.
Pairs well with
- Josh's Spicy Rush — the same cayenne with niacinamide added, for people who want it after breakfast
- Salt of Life — trace minerals with every meal
- 100% Grass-Fed Beef Liver — the whole-food copper and retinol base under everything else
Cautions
- Not recommended for young children under 5.
- Store cool and dry, away from direct sunlight. Best within 12 months of opening.
Lab Tested
Every product. COA on request, ~2 weeks.
Small Batch
Made in small batches, about as close to homemade as a capsule gets.
Nothing Hidden
One ingredient, plus the capsule. No fillers or flow agents.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nutrient figures are approximate reference values, not a lot-specific assay. Consult your healthcare provider before use if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or managing a health condition.
How To Get Started
Follow These Steps In Order
Step 2
Join Live Coaching with Josh
Josh offers biweekly Zoom meetings to walk through the basics, answer general questions, and give you a clear understanding of where to begin. Attend one of these before scheduling your personal consult.
Questions? Contact Us or email info@modernrootslife.com