Buy your weekday smoothies and get your weekend ones for free. (7 for the price of 5!)
Modern Roots Life Coffee | South American Blend - Lab and Mold Tested
A medium roast sits between the light and dark ends on chlorogenic acid, the compound a lab analysis tracked falling steadily as roast degree rises. Balanced, smooth, and tested for ochratoxin A before it's bagged. This is the one you drink every day.
The easiest of the three to like: black or with cream. 12 oz whole bean or ground, or 100-count K-Cups.
- Lab Tested
- Mold Tested
- Medium Roast
- No Flavorings
- No Additives
- No Sugar
Why people use it
- Balanced, smooth, and repeatable. It sits between the bright light roast and a heavy dark one. Enough depth to be satisfying, smooth enough to drink every day.
- The one that takes cream. Full enough to stand up to milk without disappearing, and clean enough to drink black. The other two are pickier.
- Medium roast sits in the middle on chemistry too. A lab analysis across four roast levels found chlorogenic acid falls steadily as roast degree rises. A medium roast lands between the light and dark options in this line. That's chemistry, not a health claim.
- Mold tested, and here's what that means. The analyte is ochratoxin A. A European survey found it in 46 percent of roasted coffee samples; roasting cuts it by roughly 68 percent but does not remove it. That is why testing is worth doing.
- Start here if you're not sure. Of the three, this is the one that is hardest to get wrong across drip, press, and espresso.
What's in the cup (approximate)
These are published reference figures for brewed coffee, not an assay of this lot.
| Component | Per 12 fl oz brewed | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | ~113-247 mg | FDA's general range for brewed coffee. FDA cites 400 mg/day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in healthy adults. |
| Chlorogenic acids | Not assayed | Raw arabica beans measure 4.35-8.81 mg/g; content falls as roast degree rises, so a medium roast sits between the light and dark options. |
| Ochratoxin A | Tested, not a nutrient | The EU limit for roasted and ground coffee is 5 mcg/kg. Ask us for your lot's result. |
Caffeine range from FDA. Chlorogenic acid by roast level from a published HPLC analysis. Ochratoxin A occurrence and limits from a 2019 review. Brew method, grind, and dose move the caffeine number more than roast level does.
How to use
- Buy whole bean if you can, and grind close to brewing.
- Forgiving across drip, French press, and espresso. It doesn't need a dialed-in setup to taste right.
- Takes cream or milk without losing structure. Also fine black.
- Store the bag sealed at room temperature, away from light and moisture. Not the freezer.
- If you're working on iron or mineral status, keep coffee well away from those meals and supplements.
Sourcing & making
A South American coffee blend, roasted medium in small batches and lab tested for mold and mycotoxins. Nothing is added to the bean. Sold as 12 oz whole bean, 12 oz ground, or 100-count K-Cups. Free shipping on all coffee orders.
Full ingredients
- Roasted coffee, South American blend, medium roast
Who it's for — and who it isn't
Good fit for:
- People who want one dependable coffee they drink every day rather than three they rotate
- Anyone who takes cream and doesn't want the coffee to vanish under it
- Households where two people want different things out of the same pot
Probably not for you if:
- You want the floral, fruit-forward end of the spectrum. That's the Ethiopian light roast.
- You want bright citrus and a clean, crisp finish. That's Kenya.
- You need coffee with breakfast and breakfast is where you get your iron. See the note on iron below.
Testing & quality
Every product is lab tested. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround. For coffee the analyte that matters is ochratoxin A, and the limit used for roasted and ground coffee is 5 micrograms per kilogram. Email us with your roast date and we'll send the result for your lot.
The research behind the ingredients
Published research on the ingredients in this product, for education. These studies were not conducted on this product.
Coffee (Coffea arabica) - mycotoxin / ochratoxin A exposure
Occurrence of Ochratoxin A in Coffee: Threads and Solutions-A Mini-Review
Beverages · 2019 · narrative review
Reviewing European surveillance data, the author reports ochratoxin A detected in 36% of green coffee bean samples and 46% of roasted coffee samples at mean levels of 3.641 and 1.092 micrograms per kilogram respectively, notes that roasting reduces OTA by roughly 68-84% without eliminating it, and estimates that coffee contributes about 12% of total dietary OTA intake.
Coffee (Coffea arabica) - chlorogenic acid and caffeine by roast level
Processes · 2021 · laboratory analysis of coffee samples · n=3 coffee sources x 4 roast levels
Analysing three coffee sources at raw, light, medium and dark roast by HPLC, the authors found chlorogenic acid declined steadily as roast level increased, reaching its lowest concentration in dark roast across all sources, while caffeine content changed comparatively little. Because this product is sold as a medium roast, it sits mid-range for chlorogenic acid retention, between light and dark.
Coffee chlorogenic acids (polyphenols)
Chlorogenic acid coffee trial, 2019
Nutrients · 2019 · RCT · n=150 enrolled, 142 completed
In a 12-week double-blind randomized trial, adults drinking coffee supplying 369 mg of chlorogenic acids per serving showed significantly greater reductions in visceral fat area, total abdominal fat area, body weight, BMI and waist circumference than adults drinking coffee supplying 35 mg, with no severe adverse events in either group.
Evidence note: Moderate and indirect: the ochratoxin and chlorogenic-acid research is directly relevant to how coffee is sourced, tested and roasted, but none of it tests this blend. The single randomized human trial used a chlorogenic-acid-standardised coffee, and this product does not disclose its chlorogenic acid content.
A note on iron
Iron is essential, but stored and unbound iron is reactive; it feeds oxidative stress. The body moves iron using copper-dependent ceruloplasmin and vitamin A, which is why we focus on whole-food copper and retinol rather than pushing more iron. If you are considering iron, test your levels first and talk it through with your practitioner. Iron is not right for everyone.
Ceruloplasmin-ferroportin system of iron traffic · Iron, NIH ODS
FAQ
Which of the three should I start with?
This one, if you're not sure. It's the most versatile: smooth enough to drink black, full enough to stand up to cream. That's a flavor and brewing recommendation, not a quality ranking - all three are the same standard.
What origins are in the blend?
We don't name them yet, and we're not going to guess on your behalf. Email us and we'll tell you what's in the bag you're buying.
How much caffeine is in a cup?
There's no assay for this lot. FDA's general reference for brewed coffee is 113-247 mg per 12 fl oz, and it cites 400 mg a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in healthy adults. Brew strength moves that number more than roast level does.
What does mold tested actually mean?
The contaminant of interest is ochratoxin A. The EU limit for roasted and ground coffee is 5 micrograms per kilogram, and roasting cuts it by a reported average of about 68 percent without eliminating it. Email us with your roast date and we'll send the result.
Should I drink it with breakfast?
Not if breakfast is where you get your iron. A controlled study found polyphenol-containing beverages, coffee included, reduced non-heme iron absorption by 50 to 90 percent depending on polyphenol load, and milk made little or no difference.
Pairs well with
- Ethiopia — the light roast - floral, bright, fruit-forward, drunk black
- Kenya — bright and citrus-forward with a clean finish
- Salt of Life — trace minerals at meals - just keep them away from the coffee window
Cautions
- Caffeine tolerance varies. Drink accordingly.
- Store beans sealed, at room temperature, away from light and moisture. Grind close to brewing.
Lab Tested
Every product. COA on request, ~2 weeks.
Small Batch
Made in small batches, about as close to homemade as a capsule gets.
Mold Tested
Ochratoxin A, with the limit named. Lot result on request.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nutrient figures are approximate reference values, not a lot-specific assay.
A medium roast sits between the light and dark ends on chlorogenic acid, the compound a lab analysis tracked falling steadily as roast degree rises. Balanced, smooth, and tested for ochratoxin A before it's bagged. This is the one you drink every day.
The easiest of the three to like: black or with cream. 12 oz whole bean or ground, or 100-count K-Cups.
- Lab Tested
- Mold Tested
- Medium Roast
- No Flavorings
- No Additives
- No Sugar
Why people use it
- Balanced, smooth, and repeatable. It sits between the bright light roast and a heavy dark one. Enough depth to be satisfying, smooth enough to drink every day.
- The one that takes cream. Full enough to stand up to milk without disappearing, and clean enough to drink black. The other two are pickier.
- Medium roast sits in the middle on chemistry too. A lab analysis across four roast levels found chlorogenic acid falls steadily as roast degree rises. A medium roast lands between the light and dark options in this line. That's chemistry, not a health claim.
- Mold tested, and here's what that means. The analyte is ochratoxin A. A European survey found it in 46 percent of roasted coffee samples; roasting cuts it by roughly 68 percent but does not remove it. That is why testing is worth doing.
- Start here if you're not sure. Of the three, this is the one that is hardest to get wrong across drip, press, and espresso.
What's in the cup (approximate)
These are published reference figures for brewed coffee, not an assay of this lot.
| Component | Per 12 fl oz brewed | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | ~113-247 mg | FDA's general range for brewed coffee. FDA cites 400 mg/day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in healthy adults. |
| Chlorogenic acids | Not assayed | Raw arabica beans measure 4.35-8.81 mg/g; content falls as roast degree rises, so a medium roast sits between the light and dark options. |
| Ochratoxin A | Tested, not a nutrient | The EU limit for roasted and ground coffee is 5 mcg/kg. Ask us for your lot's result. |
Caffeine range from FDA. Chlorogenic acid by roast level from a published HPLC analysis. Ochratoxin A occurrence and limits from a 2019 review. Brew method, grind, and dose move the caffeine number more than roast level does.
How to use
- Buy whole bean if you can, and grind close to brewing.
- Forgiving across drip, French press, and espresso. It doesn't need a dialed-in setup to taste right.
- Takes cream or milk without losing structure. Also fine black.
- Store the bag sealed at room temperature, away from light and moisture. Not the freezer.
- If you're working on iron or mineral status, keep coffee well away from those meals and supplements.
Sourcing & making
A South American coffee blend, roasted medium in small batches and lab tested for mold and mycotoxins. Nothing is added to the bean. Sold as 12 oz whole bean, 12 oz ground, or 100-count K-Cups. Free shipping on all coffee orders.
Full ingredients
- Roasted coffee, South American blend, medium roast
Who it's for — and who it isn't
Good fit for:
- People who want one dependable coffee they drink every day rather than three they rotate
- Anyone who takes cream and doesn't want the coffee to vanish under it
- Households where two people want different things out of the same pot
Probably not for you if:
- You want the floral, fruit-forward end of the spectrum. That's the Ethiopian light roast.
- You want bright citrus and a clean, crisp finish. That's Kenya.
- You need coffee with breakfast and breakfast is where you get your iron. See the note on iron below.
Testing & quality
Every product is lab tested. Certificates of analysis on request, about a two-week turnaround. For coffee the analyte that matters is ochratoxin A, and the limit used for roasted and ground coffee is 5 micrograms per kilogram. Email us with your roast date and we'll send the result for your lot.
The research behind the ingredients
Published research on the ingredients in this product, for education. These studies were not conducted on this product.
Coffee (Coffea arabica) - mycotoxin / ochratoxin A exposure
Occurrence of Ochratoxin A in Coffee: Threads and Solutions-A Mini-Review
Beverages · 2019 · narrative review
Reviewing European surveillance data, the author reports ochratoxin A detected in 36% of green coffee bean samples and 46% of roasted coffee samples at mean levels of 3.641 and 1.092 micrograms per kilogram respectively, notes that roasting reduces OTA by roughly 68-84% without eliminating it, and estimates that coffee contributes about 12% of total dietary OTA intake.
Coffee (Coffea arabica) - chlorogenic acid and caffeine by roast level
Processes · 2021 · laboratory analysis of coffee samples · n=3 coffee sources x 4 roast levels
Analysing three coffee sources at raw, light, medium and dark roast by HPLC, the authors found chlorogenic acid declined steadily as roast level increased, reaching its lowest concentration in dark roast across all sources, while caffeine content changed comparatively little. Because this product is sold as a medium roast, it sits mid-range for chlorogenic acid retention, between light and dark.
Coffee chlorogenic acids (polyphenols)
Chlorogenic acid coffee trial, 2019
Nutrients · 2019 · RCT · n=150 enrolled, 142 completed
In a 12-week double-blind randomized trial, adults drinking coffee supplying 369 mg of chlorogenic acids per serving showed significantly greater reductions in visceral fat area, total abdominal fat area, body weight, BMI and waist circumference than adults drinking coffee supplying 35 mg, with no severe adverse events in either group.
Evidence note: Moderate and indirect: the ochratoxin and chlorogenic-acid research is directly relevant to how coffee is sourced, tested and roasted, but none of it tests this blend. The single randomized human trial used a chlorogenic-acid-standardised coffee, and this product does not disclose its chlorogenic acid content.
A note on iron
Iron is essential, but stored and unbound iron is reactive; it feeds oxidative stress. The body moves iron using copper-dependent ceruloplasmin and vitamin A, which is why we focus on whole-food copper and retinol rather than pushing more iron. If you are considering iron, test your levels first and talk it through with your practitioner. Iron is not right for everyone.
Ceruloplasmin-ferroportin system of iron traffic · Iron, NIH ODS
FAQ
Which of the three should I start with?
This one, if you're not sure. It's the most versatile: smooth enough to drink black, full enough to stand up to cream. That's a flavor and brewing recommendation, not a quality ranking - all three are the same standard.
What origins are in the blend?
We don't name them yet, and we're not going to guess on your behalf. Email us and we'll tell you what's in the bag you're buying.
How much caffeine is in a cup?
There's no assay for this lot. FDA's general reference for brewed coffee is 113-247 mg per 12 fl oz, and it cites 400 mg a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in healthy adults. Brew strength moves that number more than roast level does.
What does mold tested actually mean?
The contaminant of interest is ochratoxin A. The EU limit for roasted and ground coffee is 5 micrograms per kilogram, and roasting cuts it by a reported average of about 68 percent without eliminating it. Email us with your roast date and we'll send the result.
Should I drink it with breakfast?
Not if breakfast is where you get your iron. A controlled study found polyphenol-containing beverages, coffee included, reduced non-heme iron absorption by 50 to 90 percent depending on polyphenol load, and milk made little or no difference.
Pairs well with
- Ethiopia — the light roast - floral, bright, fruit-forward, drunk black
- Kenya — bright and citrus-forward with a clean finish
- Salt of Life — trace minerals at meals - just keep them away from the coffee window
Cautions
- Caffeine tolerance varies. Drink accordingly.
- Store beans sealed, at room temperature, away from light and moisture. Grind close to brewing.
Lab Tested
Every product. COA on request, ~2 weeks.
Small Batch
Made in small batches, about as close to homemade as a capsule gets.
Mold Tested
Ochratoxin A, with the limit named. Lot result on request.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nutrient figures are approximate reference values, not a lot-specific assay.
How To Get Started
Follow These Steps In Order
Step 2
Join Live Coaching with Josh
Josh offers biweekly Zoom meetings to walk through the basics, answer general questions, and give you a clear understanding of where to begin. Attend one of these before scheduling your personal consult.
Questions? Contact Us or email info@modernrootslife.com